The pleasure of your presence is required: tomorrow morning, City Hall

It’s time for the next meeting regarding the current state of the Mayor’s idea of nightlife legislation. Yeah, I know, Thursday at 9:30am at City Hall is most people’s idea of hell, but this is *crucial*, if you’d like to continue to enjoy actual, honest-to-god rock shows in Seattle. Caffeinate. Be there. Speak up!

The City Council’s Economic Development and Neighborhoods Committee is holding another briefing on the Mayor’s proposed Nightlife legislation on April 5th, 9:30 am at the City Hall Council Chambers (600 – 4th Avenue). We need ever person who can to attend this briefing and offer testimony expressing your personal concerns with the legislation. If you go out to bars, nightclubs, or to see live music, you need to come support. It important to just show up, just write an email, etc. Every person counts.

Our message to city hall is simple – let’s better enforce the laws we currently have on the books now to address issues of noise, litter and other community concerns. There is no need for new cumbersome, oppressive regulations that threaten existing businesses and potential new businesses when the city isn’t enforcing the laws they already have. We support the creation of an advisory board to help resolve disputes between neighbors and business owners and develop ways to help professionalize the nightlife industry. If you can’t attend the meeting, please email the members of the city council.

Jan Drago (jan.drago@seattle.gov)
Richard Conlin (Richard.Conlin@seattle.gov)
Richard McIver (richard.mciver@seattle.gov)
Peter Steinbrueck (peter.steinbrueck@seattle.gov)
Nick Licata (Nick.Licata@Seattle.gov)
David Della (David.Della@Seattle.gov)
Tom Rasmussen (tom.rasmussen@seattle.gov)
Jean Godden (Jean.Godden@Seattle.gov)
Sally Clark (sally.clark@seattle.gov)

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s